BACKWARDS AND FORWARDS

I am officially sick of getting Ultrasounds.  Tomorrow I will be getting my 13th one this pregnancy alone.  Let’s hope it is lucky 13, because it is to determine if my amniotic fluid is still low.  It has been low the last 2 times & if it is any lower, they will admit me to the hospital.  I have to confess, this has been a crazy time in my life.  I mean, we wanted another baby.  We wanted a sibling for Finn.  We tried and tried for a year and half.  After finally getting lucky, we of course had worries of a preterm labor like with our first kid, but then were thrown all these other issues.  I mean, backwards abdominal organs?  How weird is that?  It is enough to worry about, but I still have the preterm labor concerns on top of that.  Now with every new ultrasound some new trouble pops up: first low amniotic fluid and now they say my placenta is thickening.  What?

I really want to go all the way with this pregnancy, but I am looking forward to not having to worry about him coming early or not and can just focus on if his intestines are anchored properly or not.

Despite everything, I still feel enormously lucky.  We got a second fetal echo cardiogram that confirmed the findings of the first: No Major Heart Defects!  With all the ultrasounds I have been getting, at least they have not found any red flags concerning trouble with the baby.  Once he is born will be another story.  He will have at least a brief stay in the NICU to get tests to see if his intestines are anchored.  If they are free-floating, they will do a laparoscopic procedure to basically tie them down to avoid them getting all bunched up and causing huge problems.  He will also get another heart scan within 2 days of birth.

There will be about a dozen other tests on each and every one of his organs, but those will have to be performed later requiring many trips back and forth to this specialty hospital.  The spleen and liver test will not be done for at least a month or two, so we will not even know if he has a spleen right away.  The not knowing is going to be difficult and means more worries with each test as we knock each one down and hopefully everything is found A-OK!

I am 31 weeks and every week that passes, I breathe a little easier, because I know the bigger he gets the better chance he will have if he needs to come into the world a little sooner.  But stay in there kid!  I demand cooperation from my bag of waters and my placenta better behave!!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

19 Comments on “BACKWARDS AND FORWARDS”

  1. eleanorio Says:

    I’m rooting for you both, sweetie. Hang in there, little guy!

  2. onyx Says:

    You and your little guys are in my prayers! I’ll be crossing all my fingers until he comes out.

    • Cloudy Says:

      I know you know what it is like being this far along and all the anxiousness that comes with it. Thank you for your thoughts.

  3. Amanda Says:

    Love the update–I think about you and your little ones all the time. Glad to hear you’re out of the woods as far as major heart defects go, and like everyone else, I’ve got my fingers crossed for all of you. Good luck and stay strong like I know you are :).

    • Cloudy Says:

      Well, I did not know I could ever be this strong or this positive. Too bad I am such a worry-wort, too! Thank you for such kind words.

  4. Violet Says:

    Oh, Ms Cloudy, I am so pulling for you and your little guy. I am glad to hear about the news that there are no major heart defects, and I just send you every loving thought I have for health and wellness and strength.

  5. cocoabean Says:

    Good news! A positive attitude helps both of you, so try to focus on the good news.. and I hope there’s a lot more! Hang in there!

  6. Becky Says:

    Hang in there, little guy! Perhaps I can have a talk with him (from the outside) in a couple weeks. And with your waters and placenta as well. xoxoxo

  7. Kelly Says:

    How did it go?! crossing my fingers for cooperating fluids!

    • Cloudy Says:

      YEEE! Drinking 2 gallons of water a day paid off & my fluid went up a tiny bit – just enough to avoid being put on bed rest. THANK GOODNESS.

  8. Sam Says:

    In the middle of reading this post my 2 year old said “oh fuck.” Which resulting in a stern lecture and me losing my train of thought. I’m crossing my fingers & toes that your baby sticks around inside until he’s fully cooked & comes out healthy! I know you’re stressed, take care of yourself. *hugs*

  9. Cloudy Says:

    Oh good, I am glad I am not the only one who has accidentally taught my child to swear. Thanks for the wishes & more congrats to you on your growing house o’ boys!

  10. Kim Says:

    Oh the waiting for results must be so hard, I can’t even imagine. I’m glad the first cardiogram came out with good news!! Always thinking of you xoxox


Leave a Reply

