Gently they go, the beautiful, the tender, the kind

9/11 just became more tragic for my family as we lost a friend yesterday morning in a motorcycle accident.  His name was John.  He was one of my brother’s best friends.  He was a teacher who just started a new job and was running late. 

I have known him as long as I can remember and we were roommates during a pivotal time in my life.  He had an 8 year old son named Seamus.  John had lost his own mother when he was just a kid in an unbelievably terrible way and it fucked him up for years.  Now John’s own son has to endure such a monumental loss.  How do you tell an 8 year old that your dad is gone?

Today it feels like the world is ending and God is taking us one at a time.

I could not sleep.  It just does not seem right.

Although I had not talked with him in so long, I loved him.  He was family. 

John, I am so sorry that you are gone.  I know you will still be here in some way as a guiding, loving force for your son. 

john2

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

9 Comments on “Gently they go, the beautiful, the tender, the kind”

  1. DD Says:

    Oh no…this is so truly sad. I don’t know how I’d tell my son his Dad was gone from this earth. My the heavens grant them all strength.

  2. eliashuckleberry Says:

    horrible, horrible.

  3. Sharnee Says:

    Oh, that’s really really shit.
    I’m sorry 😦

  4. Eleanor Says:

    I am so sorry. My heart breaks for that poor boy.

  5. Becky Says:

    Oh, god. My soul just aches.

  6. Kim Says:

    What a sad thing to happen, that just breaks my heart. I’m sorry Cloudy.

  7. Desirée Says:

    I am so, so sorry to hear you and your brother have lost a good friend and not least that Seamus have lost his dad. Rest in peace, John. x

  8. LJ Says:

    My condolences to your loss. These are the times when we feel we want to most answers, but don’t get any.
    Hugs – LJ


Leave a Reply

