A DUCK SHOWER

I had to wonder what the universe was trying to say when one week before we were to host our friend’s baby shower at our house, my whole family got sick, including the cats.  I mean, doing something nice for someone is supposed to warrant you goodness in return, not the 6th plague of Egypt raining down on your household.  Somehow in between fevers and vomit tummy and zero appetite followed by zero sleep, we got the house and yard in well enough shape to safely accommodate a large group just in time for a Saturday afternoon shindig.

Two years ago, I had planned to host my own baby shower, but those plans were dashed when Finn made a dramatically early appearance.  I was going to make a variety of delicious tea sandwiches.  Get it?  BABY sandwiches?  For this shower, however, we decided to make Sliders.  Get it?  BABY burgers?  I bought a whole host of mini buns & fancy condiments, including the much deliberated Baconnaise. I did not think I would like bacon-flavored mayo, but oh lord help me, I do.   The sides, salads & appetizers were provided by our friends and we were off & running.

The pseudo theme for the party was Rubber Duckies.  I had made the party invitations into a duck and simply cut them out & stuffed them into large yellow envelopes.  I was going to use a diaper pattern for the invites & seal them with safety pin stickers, but no one wants a diaper themed shower.  I had ordered the cake asking them to decorate it with the same image as the invitation and I ordered party favors that were chocolate popsicles with the shower info printed on them with sugar ink.  Then I found out the baby mama was diagnosed with Gestational Diabetes.  Doh!  She requested a Cheesecake, because it has less sugar than a frosted cake and would balance better with her meal, so I ordered her a small one from the Cheesecake factory and adorned it with miniature rubber duckies.  I really wanted to make the cakes myself, but I can either make cakes or host a shower, not both. 

SHOWER1-1-2SHOWER1-1-1

I did not want to overdo the duck theme, so I just had the dinnerware all in yellow with dozens of yellow balloons floating on the ceiling.  I wanted to buy & disperse more yellow flowers, but I ran out of time.  I also made a delicious lemonade punch and froze blue cherries in ice cubes to float in the punch bowl.  I think the only thing that really got messed up in our party planning was the lack of alcohol.  I only bought one case of beer & Sasha only put half of it out at first.  Not sure how booze could have possibly been an oversight, but it was a loud one.

I earned the nickname Julie McCoy after the cruise director on the Love Boat, because I had the party broken down into phases and wanted to knock them down like it was rifle practice.  Food! Cake!  Gifts!  GO!

We happened to luck out on the perfect warm weather with the day starting off without a cloud in the sky.  Had the baby shower been one day later, we would have been screwed as it was pouring rain and stormy come Sunday morning.  I thanked the Universe for that small favor & then said I would forgive it everything else if it just gave me a little thunder & lightening storm while I recuperated from my alcohol-less hangover.  I was granted my wish, which felt very good. 

Please excuse me now, while I go elope with Baconnaise.

SHOWER2

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

8 Comments on “A DUCK SHOWER”

  1. Cat Says:

    Wow! You really are a good friend to have. I’ve been to many baby showers and no one ever put in the effort like you did. Now I’m off to see if Baconnaise is sold in Canada. That sounds too good!

  2. LJ Says:

    Love the cakes – you can never have too much duck!

  3. eliashuckleberry Says:

    as always, your parties are the best. thank you!!

  4. For-Tart Says:

    Please send any unwanted rain our way, please!

  5. Kim Says:

    Yay McCoy!! Your planning skills rock. Glad it went smoothly (glad you’re all feeling better too!) Love the duck theme.

  6. Cat Says:

    I shall update you as soon as I know anything more. Your wish is my command or rather your demand is my wish 🙂

  7. Desirée Says:

    *ehem* Fixed the link that didn’t work – but probably you already knew the Pixar film that I was referring to and attempted linking to – Partly Cloudy. Yes, definitely the guilty cloud behind many toddlers I know! :))

  8. Megin Says:

    You bake and do such amazing things. I might have to start being more jealous of you.


Leave a Reply

