When the well is dry, they know the worth of water

I am wearing pink today in support of the California teachers who received pink slips.   I do not live in CA, but I am from there and half my friends and family are teachers.  I do not actually own any pink clothing, so I am wearing a mottled red tank top that is very faded so I am going to call it pink:

 

pink2-1

 

Finn also does not have any pink in his wardrobe.  I have nothing against boys wearing pink, but if I don’t even have any pink clothes as his female mother, then he surely does not, so to help him support his future teachers, I dressed him head to tow in red:

 

red-1

 

 

Dooce is doing a book signing in Seattle at the end of the month, and I am going to go.  I am not sure why I feel so lame about attending.  It will be interesting to go to a blogging author signing as apposed to a non-blogging author signing since I know so much about her daily life.  Plus, I am excited she is pregnant.  I read her blog all during the time her book is set around, so why not go and support her.  I think I will ask to touch her belly and then go “Just Kidding!”  I will already have a copy of her book by then, do I have to bring the receipt to the signing or does the bookstore make you buy a copy from them? Also, do I have her sign the book to my real name or my Internet non de plume?

 

I have this habit of always leaving food on my plate.  I usually get full or bored half way through the meal, and just don’t finish it.  Even if I love the meal or it is just a sandwich, there will be at least a bread crust left behind.  I know it is wasteful, but everybody has to have some kind of eating disorder.

 

I prefer the smell of fruit-scented to flower-scented items like soaps & shampoos, but both make me sneeze.

 

Holy mother of god, I am so fucking boring!  Blame my lack of sugar for the lack of spice up in here.

 

Next week I may try to tackle the bullet items I never write about.  What the heck.

 

Oh yeah, I have a challenge for you.  The next time you go to a grocery store or a restaurant where the person helping you wears a nametag, be sure to find a way to work their name into the conversation and be creative.  I am going to do the same and will write about the responses on Friday, 3/27; I will expect you to share your own tales in the comments.  It does not sound funny just reading it here, but every time I am in the presence of someone with a nametag I get ridiculously giddy at the thought of freaking them out by using their name.  I mean, what are nametags for, anyway?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

7 Comments on “When the well is dry, they know the worth of water”

  1. Sharnee Says:

    oh i always feel so uncomfortable calling people by their names (because it always made me feel so uncomfortable when people did it to me). haha.

    finn looks like a christmas present all dressed in red! what a cutie!

  2. LJ Says:

    YOU my dear, are far from boring.

  3. Kim Says:

    I will try the same thing with nametagged-peeps! I always get sort of ‘giddy’ about it too, but always fear I am going to annoy them in some way… Can’t wait to read your results!

    (I agree w/ above; you are never boring!)

  4. kathy Says:

    You’re not boring. You rock! Keep posting interesting fun things for me to read.

  5. Annette Says:

    You are so cool by wearing pink!! 57 teachers in my district have gotten their notices – that is very scary. I got my picture in the paper holding a sign and only a few people saw it and told me, “hey, you were in the paper!” Even my own dad did not see me – ack. Stand up for teachers! Finn looks very cute, as always! You are so not boring my lovely.


  6. Hehehehe! We’ve been going to the same City Market in our small town for the last 12 years. A lot of the employees have been there for ages.

    Just yesterday I was checking out my groceries, and the lady said, “so, your nephew is coming this week, isn’t he? How do you feel about it?

    I said, “Oh Phyllis, we’re SOOO excited!” Then I glanced at the name-tag on her jacket which said “Mary Lou” (who is another checker who has been there for years).

    After a second I said, “Oh Mary Lou, I’m so embarrassed that I called you Phyllis! I don’t know why I got the two of you confused. Please accept my apologies!”

    She got a little huffy and said, “No, you were right the first time! I was cold and borrowed Mary Lou’s jacket!”

    argh.


Leave a Reply

