CAKE FACED

November was the “Post Everyday” challenge.  December was the “Deal with Snow Everyday” challenge.  January was the “Eat no sugar or foods that act like sugar” challenge.  For the entire month of January, I was essentially sugar free.  This is a great feat for someone like me with a massive sugar dependency.  I recruited my sister, my niece and my aunt and we worked as a support team and also a confessionary when we slipped a time or two.  I started out strong and was solid for 15 whole days and then I took a bad slip.  We had a cookie platter brought in for a staff meeting and there is just something about a free cookie that I cannot resist.  Since I had one cookie, why not eat another since I already blew it?  I took a bad tumble that day, but I was able to pick myself back up and start anew and got to the end of the month without further incident. 

 

Then I celebrated with cake. 

 

This is OK, because it was my own birthday cake.  My birthday is not until tomorrow, but we celebrated early by going out to dinner with friends.  I had preordered my own cake from a gourmet bakery to bring to the restaurant (Chocolate fudge cake with dark chocolate mousse filling and orange butter crème frosting).  I dorked out in a big way by picking a restaurant that did not accept reservations.  I did not think it would be a big deal to get a table, what with the recession and all, but they said they could not get our large group in for TWO HOURS!  If half of us did not have kids this would not have been that big of a deal, but we could not just hang out in the bar and the babies had a curfew.  Thus began the mad scramble to find a new place; luckily I have a good set of friends that did not give me shit for the blunder and were willing to drive all over town looking for a new venue.  I was slightly depressed by this new wrinkle, because earlier I had studied the restaurants menu online and already decided I would get two Mai Tai’s, the Goat Cheese toast appetizer and the Pesto Salmon for dinner.  The one thing that kept me calm was knowing the cake was in the car and that everything would be OK, even if we had to eat it right there in the parking lot.  Luckily we found a pizza place that could fit us all in right away, which actually saved a good bit of dough.  They did not serve cocktails, so my celebratory drink was a pink chardonnay.  When it came time to eat the cake, I actually felt a peculiar sense of calm wash over me.

 

I am not sure what type of Challenge February will bring, but maybe something like the: “Try Not to be such a Goof Every Single Day” challenge.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

12 Comments on “CAKE FACED”

  1. Becky Says:

    Happy birthday, one day early! I’m impressed at your January stamina, holy crow. Glad you got cakefaced in celebration. You’re the best. Please do not de-goof yourself too much this month. xoxo

  2. Sharnee Says:

    Happy Birthday for tomorrow (possibly today here since I’m living in the future)?
    Well done on not eating any sugary things for a month! I am impressed!!

  3. Eleanor Says:

    Happy Birthday, dear Cloudy, Happy Birthday to you!

  4. kathy Says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY LOVE!

  5. Lannylee Says:

    Happy birthday! Any cake left it sounds gorgeous!!

  6. For-Tart Says:

    Happy B-Day!

  7. Kim Says:

    Happy happy birthday!!! — And there is NOTHING wrong with being a ‘goof’; don’t stop! Finn will love you even more for it. xoxoxoox Have a great great week/weekend, you deserve it!

  8. Mindy Says:

    “I am not sure what type of Challenge February will bring, but maybe something like the: “Try Not to be such a Goof Every Single Day” challenge.”

    No way! I suggest the “Try to be extra goofy every single day” challenge! WAY more fun!

  9. Anonymous Says:

    Happy Birthday! Sorry it’s late 😉 You also share a birthday with the Crown Princess of Denmark. And my mate’s baby girl was 1 yesterday as well!

  10. LJ Says:

    Happy Birthday “Sweet” Cheeks!

  11. Kim Says:

    Hope you had a great birthday weekend!! xoxoxo 🙂 Filled with sugar!

  12. Kim Says:

    Hope you had a great birthday weekend!! xoxoxo 🙂 filled with lots of sugar!


Leave a Reply

