GOLDEN GLOBE 2009 RECAP

HERE WE GO, WEE!

 

8:05 p.m. – J.Lo in a gold lame version of that green dress she wore 10 years ago where she has to tape her boobs in.  I think she is trying to recapture her heyday.  Award for best supporting actress in a movie drama to The Reader’s Kate Winslet!  Yay! I have loved her since her debut in ‘Heavenly Creatures’.

 

8:06 p.m. – SHIT!  Sting just scared me with his darkness.

 

8:09 p.m. – Bruce Springsteen, gets the best original song award for “The Wrestler” for the film of the same name. Pretty cool. “This is going to be the only time I’m in competition with Clint Eastwood. Felt pretty good too.”  Clint just scowled back with that Clint scowl of his.

 

8:15 p.m. – Rumer Willis is Miss Golden Globe. The red hair was a mistake.

 

8:16 p.m. – Tom Wilkinson gets best supporting actor on TV for the John Adams miniseries. He rocked the role as Ben Franklin although I was hoping Neil Patrick Harris would win.

 

8:20 p.m. – Laura Dern nabs the supporting actress award for her role as scary Florida Katherine whatserface in Recount.

 

8:25 p.m. – Dan Cheadle has no hair.  Cohen Brothers never hired me either, Don.

 

8:28 p.m. – Hollywood Foreign Press Association keeps it short and sweet.

 

8:29 p.m. – Hayden Panettiere & Zac Efron present for Best Performance by an Actor In A Television Series – Drama: C’MON Hugh Laurie!!!!! Oh well, Gabriel Byrne.  He is not even there, but he might be sick.

 

8:30 p.m. – The new Captain Kirk, Chris Pine, who was in that awful good luck bad luck movie with Lindsay Lohan and villain-from-heroes-turned-new-Spock, Zachary Quinto announce Anna Paquin wins the best actress in a TV drama for playing the psychic Sookie Stackhouse in love with a vampire in HBO’s True Blood. Why is everybody going blond?  If everyone else is blond why do you want to be blond, too.

 

8:36 p.m. – Ricky Gervais RULES!  Hilariously references his show Extras, saying, “Winslet, I told you. Do a Holocaust movie and win an award.”  

 

8:39 p.m. – The Jonas brothers look northing alike, but then they also look exactly alike. Wall-E wins for best animated.  I just put it on my Netflix queue.

 

8:42 p.m. – I always find it funny that Johnny Depp comes to these things, but I am glad he does.  Sally Hawkins wins for her comedy leading role in Happy-Go-Lucky. Why is there no podium?  At first I thought she was all out of it, but she was just overcome with winning.  Emma Thomson almost came up and finished her speech for her.  She loves EVERYBODY!

 

8:56 p.m. – John Adams wins for best TV miniseries. I had no idea Tom Hanks was involved.

 

8:57 p.m. – Demi Moore totally embarrasses Rumer in front of the entire world by telling her not to hunch.  I half wanted Rumer to throw down the statue and run off the stage crying.

 

8:59 p.m. – Heath Ledger gets a standing ovation for his posthumous win for playing the Joker from The Dark Knight. Director Christopher Nolan says some heartfelt words and tears brim around the audience.

 

9:08 p.m. – Caught the coke reference from Colin Farrell.  Waltz With Bashir wins Israel the best foreign language film.

 

9:12 p.m. – Laura Linney wins for her leading role in the HBO miniseries, John Adams.  Her death bed scene had me in a puddle.

 

9:20 p.m. – Slumdog Millionaire wins Simon Beaufoy for best motion picture screenplay.

 

9:23 p.m. – Alec Baldwin nabs the best actor in a comedy award for 30 Rock. Makes Rumer feel better by sharing a sweet memory of her.  Shout out to Ireland.

 

9:30 p.m. – An earlier shot Renee Zellweger’s hair actually startled me.  Now I am startled for a different reason.  The dress is sucking the life out of her like a Boa Constrictor.

 

9:32 p.m. – Paul Giamatti continues the John Adams sweep for playing the man himself in the miniseries. DON’T SMOKE!

 

 9:36 p.m. – 30 Rock wins for best comedy series! I love you, Tina.  Tracy Morgan explains that he and Fey had an agreement: if Barack Obama won, he would speak for the show from now on. “I am the face of post-racial America. Deal with it, Cate Blanchett!”

 

9:44 p.m. – Kate Beckinsale & Diddy. I just read where he says he does not use towels but has full body air dryers in his bathroom. They hand the best score award to A.R. Rahman for Slumdog Millionaire.

 

9:47 p.m. – David Duchovny is doing his best to get back together with his wife after they separated post stint in rehab for sex addiction.  I wish him well.

 

9:48 p.m. – Tina Fey wins best actress!

 

9:55 p.m. – Martin Scorsese presents the Cecil B. DeMille/lifetime achievement award to Steven Spielberg. The film montage makes me realize how much his films has bullet pointed my whole life.  I burst into tears when I see the little girl in the red coat from Schindler’s List.

 

10:13 p.m. – Did Emma Thompson just almost fall down?  I love her anyway.

 

10:14 p.m. – Danny Boyle is your best director for Slumdog Millionaire. I love most of his films, especially Shallow Grave.

 

10:19 p.m. – Sandra Bullock presents best actor-comedy nominees.  I will always like her since seeing her in person while she was filming The Net in SF.  Surprisingly, Collin Ferrell wins.  Luckily I have Closed Caption or I would not have understood a word.

 

10:30 p.m. – Vicky Cristina Barcelona wins for best movie comedy. It comes out on Video in a few weeks.  I will see it for the referenced painting ladies scene.

 

10:32 p.m. – What are Kate Winslet and Tom Cruise going on about?  It would be so fun to be there and be like: Which fellow star am I going to talk to at the break?  But I would not have thought these two would be drawn together.

 

10:37 p.m. – Hey Mark Wahlberg, say hi to your mother for me.

 

10:39 p.m. – Kate Winslet wins for the second time tonight for Best Actress.  It is her night.  I guess if you don’t ever win, might as well win everything all at once!  I hope her and Leo get married.

 

10:44 p.m. – Best Television Series – Drama: Come on HOUSE!  Shoot, Mad Men wins.  I have never seen it.  Now it is my turn to space out during the speech.

 

10:50 p.m. – Whoa!  Mickey Rourke wins for Best Actor.  I am surprised, but I would have been very sad for him if he did not win.  He needed this.  He also wins the award for the best speech featuring the word: BALLS!  And I think Aronofsky just gave him the finger.

 

11 p.m. – Best picture/drama, goes to Slumdog Millionaire. They sweep it!  A love letter to Mumbai.  What a great way to end the night, especially when producer Christian Colson’s mouths the word “FUCK!” as he starts to get played off. Everybody looked almost flawless, but I have never seen so many one-shoulder dresses in one place!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

12 Comments on “GOLDEN GLOBE 2009 RECAP”

  1. Prolifique Says:

    “Surprisingly, Collin Ferrell wins. Luckily I have Closed Caption or I would not have understood a word.”

    LOL!!!!

  2. Miss Hiss Says:

    Your excellent summary makes me wonder why I bothered watching the broadcast at all, especially since I managed to fall asleep some time between 8.57 and 9.08 and thus missed the ONLY BLOODY BIT I actually wanted to see. (Although. Mickey Rourke was pretty cool. And I’d still do him. And I wouldn’t even have to be drunk.) Love, R xxx

  3. kathy Says:

    Thank you for doing this. I kept leaving the TV to attend to housekeeping, and now I can read what I missed.

  4. meredith Says:

    I’ve just gotten into watching all the episodes of Mad Men online and it’s very very good. I’m not sure if I like it more than House, but it is quite excellent…

  5. Becky Says:

    Oh, that was good. There’s nothing I like more than someone recapping something to me that I didn’t want to watch.. it’s like a bedtime story. I am burning with curiosity about 9:47 pm. Did David just jump up and grab the mic? Did Tea hold up a sign, informing us of the state of their separation? Did they buy ad time?

    You can see Arronofsky (SP) flipping the finger as the last animated gif on Four Four’s recap: http://fourfour.typepad.com/fourfour/2009/01/as-dull-as-gold.html ..

    Thank you, and meet you back here at the Oscars?

  6. teranika Says:

    I have to look up Renee Zellwegger’s dress now.

  7. pantrypuff Says:

    OK. Diddy is a total dunce. Rumer Willis is a troll, but who needs posture lessons on TV? Bruce Springstein looks like he just crawled out of a tanning booth. WTF? And, at the risk of pissing off everyone in the world, Heath Ledger is overrated.

    Sue me.

    And now I, too, need to look up Renee’s dress.

  8. eliashuckleberry Says:

    I didn’t get a chance to watch it! (Tivo was recording Desperate Housewives and Big Love and we didn’t want to interrupt either.) I guess I wasn’t as totally out of it as I realized since we actually went and saw Slumdog. Thanks for the recap!!

  9. coffee Says:

    Mickey Rourke’s comeback story reminds me a lot of Robert Downey Jr. for some reason

  10. Kim Says:

    YAY for Kate Winslet (LOVED ‘Heavenly Creatures’ too!) and YAYAYAY for Tina Fey. I love them. Have you seen ‘Slumdog Millionaire’ yet?? YOU HAVE TO GO RIGHT AWAY!!

  11. Annette Says:

    Shit! I totally forgot it was on. Thanks for the recap – and I have loved Kate since Heavely Creatures also!!! She rocks.

  12. teranika Says:

    sweet jesus, that dress was awful.


Leave a Reply

