THE CURVE IN A SPIRAL

My thanksgiving focus this year is on my second cousin, Sarah.  Of course I love and am thankful for all of my family and friends, but I just want to put the spotlight on Sarah for a moment.

 

She is 16 years my junior, but I think of her more as my peer than my young relative from another generation.  Out of every person in my whole family, I think she is the most like me.  We both lean toward the arts, with the exception that she has amazing talent.  She is my favorite artist with her own extraordinary style; I am positive you will know her name someday.

 

I did not know much about her until I received an email out of the blue one day when she was about 12 years old.  She had heard stories about me and wanted to reach out to her distant family as we lived across the country from one another.  We had an instant connection despite the age difference.  She had a blog before I even knew what one was.  Over the years I think I have learned more from her than the other way around.  She has a lovely connection to nature and an insight into the human heart far beyond anyone else I have ever met.  I do not get to see her very often, but the Internet keeps us up-to-date with each other’s lives and I am grateful for that.  The last time she visited we took a trip to BC and I got my very first speeding ticket.  A news channel was doing a special report on speeders in a certain area and they put footage of us on the evening news.  When Sarah saw the news special with her smiling face beaming at the camera, she literally fell on the floor laughing with the most infectious, unbridled joy.  It just feels good to be in her remarkable presence.   

 

More than my cousin, she is my friend.

 

I did not ask permission, so hopefully she will not sue me, but here are a few examples of her amazing artistry:

 

 spiralunwindingfamilytrees1

spiralunwindingjacksonpublic

 

I love you, Sarah! 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

5 Comments on “THE CURVE IN A SPIRAL”

  1. Dan Says:

    Wow! Sarah really is a great artist; I love those trees (in a deeply weird way). Of course, you’re selling yourself short on your own talented, creative mind.

  2. Sarah Says:

    *glows like a motherfuckin’ beacon in the NIGHT*

    You honor me! You humble me! Thank you! Thank you!!

    aaaaaahhh–! *eeee* aaaaaaaa *eeeee*

    I love you!!!

  3. hambox Says:

    Love you both! And you’re both lucky ladies!

  4. LJ Says:

    Not only is this a lovely entry, but she is a very good artist. I hope she keeps it up.

  5. Desirée Says:

    Fantastic talent!


Leave a Reply

