FIRST LETTER

Dear Finn,

 

This is my very first letter to you.  There will be more letters from me later: I plan to write you everyday when you are older and away at summer camp and I am already thinking of the notes I will include in your care packages when you are away at college, but this one is the most important, because it is the first one from me, your dear old Mom.

 

I was going to write this letter 3 weeks ago to commemorate your very first birthday, but decided it was more significant that I write it today to mark the one year anniversary of the day you finally came home to live with us.  For the first 3 weeks of your life, you were in the care of a team of nurses.  You see, for some reason you decided to enter the world 7 weeks earlier than recommended.  Even though your father and I were thrilled to finally get to meet you, it meant we could not yet take you home until the doctors were satisfied you were going to be OK away from their watchful eye and noisy monitors. 

 

Despite my constant complaining, I loved being pregnant with you.  To feel your sweet presence and have you be part of my every day was a really great feeling, especially since we tried for so long to conceive you.  I wish I could have been pregnant with you for longer to save you some of the discomfort of the incubator and all the poking and prodding you got while in the hospital.

 

You were just under 5 pounds when you were born, which is teeny tiny.  Despite your size, you were quite handsome from the moment you emerged.  I thought it could just be a mother’s eye, but even the nurses agreed to your total cuteness and were sure to let me know that not all babies are cute.  We would visit you 3 times a day during your cluster care and each and every time I laid my eyes on you, my heart would light up.  You were a charming baby from the get-go.  You came out looking like your Dad and you seemed to possess his calm and kind nature as well.  Lately you look more like my side of the family: big, round, Irish head and you have my mother’s sole dimple on your right cheek. 

 

You are an easygoing kid who is happy most of the time.  You love to laugh and give kisses.  Currently, however, you are going through an annoying stage of hair pulling.  No matter who is holding you, you like nothing better than to grab a healthy handful of locks and pull as hard as you can, which is pretty dang hard.  Sometimes you also try to pull off my eyelid, so I am working hard on trying to teach you the word NO!

 

You have a special relationship with your Dad.  He dotes on you more than I do.  He brings you home all kinds of fun toys and was the one who discovered you love cheese and toast and that you will eat most anything, even lima beans.  I get an odd, happy ache whenever I hear him reading to you.

 

We have our work cut out for us with the baby proofing, as you are a mobile, crawling machine.  I know you will be walking soon as I watch you stand and balance.  At first you would fall down a lot and bash your head on the floor or the table, but now you are figuring out how to avoid calamity as you practice against gravity.

 

I am proud your first word was “Kitty”, but your Dad would have been even happier if it was Barack Obama.

 

The thing about you kid, is that I love you so much, but I like you, too.  You are a very cool little person and I can already imagine what a great individual you are going to be.  You are only one year old, but you already have friends.  Every kid at daycare likes you and the other Mom’s tell me their kids are always talking about you at home.

 

I am trying my hardest to let you become who you are meant to be and to not screw you up too bad.  When you are voted most loved in the entire world, I plan to take all the credit.

 

I love you, baby boy, forever and always,

 

Mom

___________________________________________________________________________________________

First photo

Coming home

Home

One year later

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

17 Comments on “FIRST LETTER”

  1. Eleanor Says:

    This is so beautiful. It makes me weep.

  2. meredith Says:

    ha! oh lord I was going to say exactly what elanor just said.
    but no. really.

  3. Sharnee Says:

    Awww, that’s an awesome letter. How sweet!
    And what a handsome devil indeed!

  4. Sharnee Says:

    Awww, that’s an awesome letter. How sweet!
    And what a handsome devil indeed!

  5. FairyGodMum Says:

    What a sweetheart!!! Ohhh baby boy is beautiful!!!! Hugz n Lub, Bebe da FairyGodMum

  6. Kevin Says:

    You’re an amazing Mom. He’s gonna be as proud of you as I already am.

  7. Desirée Says:

    Awww;) You put a little tear in my eye. He is absolutel gorgeous, your wee man!

    I wish I could like my boy like that, but unfortunately he has been sent to this earth to torture me and his daddy by waking every hour of every night. Nearly 10 months down the line, I’m just about all out of like. That is, until morning comes and he stops wailing and sends me one of his patented I Love You Mummy smiles. *sigh*

  8. SBELLEM Says:

    Shut up!!! You have me on the brink of tears….what a lucky mom you are. I hope I get a shot soon!

  9. pantrypuff Says:

    I am proud your first word was “Kitty”, but your Dad would have been even happier if it was Barack Obama.

    That would have been AWESOME. And he may have been little, but he was always adorable. Just look at him!

  10. teranika Says:

    add me to the team of weepers. That was lovely.

  11. For-Tart Says:

    Very cute. Our second child was 4 weeks premature and spent two weeks in NIC before he could come home with us.

  12. Kim Says:

    Oh my god, that is beautiful!!! Maybe you should write a letter to him on each birthday! Oh this will mean so much to him… You are such a good writer.

  13. Whystinger Says:

    Absolutely beautiful!

  14. Kim Says:

    That is so beautiful, so beatifully-written!! It is going to mean SO much to him when he reads it later. Maybe you should write one on each of his birthdays!!

  15. geekbetty Says:

    oh I love this. so sweet!

  16. Toast Says:

    I am late catching up on your entries here – neat letter, awesome baby . . . and you have the most awesome hair. Seriously.


Leave a Reply

