Not dead; just in California.

Not dead; just in California.

 

 

 

We took Finn on his first ever road trip to my childhood home to see friends and family and meet many for the first time.  He did spectacularly well sitting in the car for two days as we made our way South (and then for another two days on the return).  The weather is reasonable in Seattle with an average temperature of 67 degrees, but from here to CA it was 99 degrees the entire trip.  We have A/C in the car, which was worth the extra $100 bucks in gas it cost us to run it, but every time we had to step out of the car for a potty break, we died a little in the heat.

 

 

 

As we drove into my childhood town, I narrated for Finn all the little places that produced a memory:

 

“This is the Oak Tree Center where we would ride our bikes to get a nickel ice cream at the Thrifty Drugs.”

 

“This is the McDonalds’ where I had a birthday party and accidentally threw away my retainer.”

 

“This is the train tracks where we would come and play chicken with the oncoming trains!”

 

 

 

I was excited to bring Finn to the home where I grew up where my dad still lives, but it was also an emotional strain as we pulled up in the driveway and I could envision my Mom standing there with opens arms ready to hold her newest grandchild.  Tears welled in my heart as I carried Finn up to the front door, but then I was knocked out of my weirdness by a sudden appearance of a Pileated Woodpecker that flew just inches above our heads and pecked at the tree trunk just above the door frame.  I had never seen one of these before; basically a gigantoid woodpecker with crazy red hair and a long neck punctuated by an even longer beak.  It was as if Woody fucking Woodpecker stopped by to say hello.

 

That first good omen so quickly pulled me out of my shit, I could just relax and simply enjoy the site of my son holding onto the same coffee table that I and all the kids and grandkids used to learn to walk and test out new teeth.

 

 

The rest of the trip went so fast; a whirlwind of the memories old and freshly made co-mingling together like turkey vegetable soup.

 

 

 

On the drive back, we had to pull over to take care of an exploded diaper (unfortunately, this is literal) and just happened to pull in next to a couple of donkey’s; one was of course named Eeyore.  They were just like little puppies, wagging their tales.  Don’t worry, no baby toes or fingers were lost in the making of these photos:

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

10 Comments on “Not dead; just in California.”

  1. Becky Says:

    Welcome back! What a wonderfully complex trip that seemed to be! It must have been such a deep experience to see your little one in your family home. And what a baby!

  2. Eleanor Says:

    So. Damned. Cute.

  3. madwag Says:

    what a cool thing to happen w/ the woodpecker! and the donkeys!!!! missed you but really glad you had a great trip w/ your beautiful family. xoxoxo

  4. Kim Says:

    I love that photo of your old family room, Finn at the same table, it looks so nostalgic, and comfy… I am glad you had a good trip (despite exploding diaper incident).

    Many more good omens are on their way, I am sure!!

  5. LJ Says:

    You’re little guy is very cute. But on another note I felt much the same way as you did when I visited my old stomping grounds back in June. Many blessings mixed with a tinge of sadness.

  6. Whystinger Says:

    Very cool and a very good omen that you saw a Pileated woodpecker. I belived they are on the endangered species list. This is a good omen for you indeed!

  7. For-Tart Says:

    It’s always nice to go home.

  8. geekbetty Says:

    what a nice trip.
    and jeezus h that kid is cute

  9. Desirée Says:

    Oh no! I knew is was around this time but couldn’t remember the exact date! Well, HAPPY BIRTHDAY, FINN! What a year it’s been, eh! Congratulations also to your mummy and daddy. You know it was probably the most emotional I ever got, the first time I wrote a card to Raven and wrote Love, Mummy. I think that’s when it really sank in I am actually someone’s mummy! Sometwo.

  10. Sharnee Says:

    Finn is so darn cute. I had a traumatic event when I was young when a horse bit my shoulder and I’ve never trusted horses since! Glad the donkeys behaved themselves. I’m sorry that yr mum isn’t there to see him.


Leave a Reply

