It is hard out there for a Misogynistic Asshole

I know this is from last year, but I only just heard about these remarks and was horrified.  In an ELLE interview with actor Terrence Howard:

 

 

ELLE: What is one item could you find in a woman’s house that would prove that you weren’t compatible?

TH: Toilet paper—and no baby wipes—in her bathroom.

ELLE: Wait. I don’t think I understand.

TH: If they’re using dry paper, they aren’t washing all of themselves. It’s just unclean. So if I go inside a woman’s house and see the toilet paper there, I’ll explain this. And if she doesn’t make the adjustment to baby wipes, I’ll know she’s not completely clean.

ELLE: What does your ideal woman look like?

TH: I like women who look like me. Generally, you’re ¬attracted to women who look like you, because the most beautiful thing in nature is your own reflection.

ELLE: So…you like a lady with a pencil moustache?

TH: No, but a woman who shares my features.

 

THE FULL ARTICLE

 

 

 

When asked to redeem himself later in an interview with New York Magazine:

 

 

Like when you told Elle magazine that you preferred for women to use baby wipes instead of toilet paper. That got a lot of coverage. Was anything misinterpreted there?

You know, my views and focus never change. They remain the same, about trying to find a cleaner way to live, and to be safer, you know? And maybe we should be a little more careful about social mores instead of this loose living that everybody’s gotten caught up in. We’ve lost our moral values a little bit. That’s what I was touching on. I believe as an artist, my nature is to speak. Do I think we need to readdress how we clean ourselves? Yeah. It took a long time for soap to catch on. Now everyone uses soap. So let’s be a little more clean, you guys. Let’s not be germophobic, but let’s be clean when we can.

 

THE FULL ARTICLE

 

 

EW.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

15 Comments on “It is hard out there for a Misogynistic Asshole”

  1. meredith Says:

    that is so, SO wild. I was just thinking about that article yesterday and was considering blogging about it myself. I read that piece when it first came out and I think about it a bit too often. And it’s lead to a distinct hatred of Terrence Howard.
    But then I watched August Rush and he was pretty good in it so I felt softened towards him. But now, rereading all that. I feel hardened again.
    He is 100% completely nuts. srsly.

  2. Becky Says:

    In one, swift moment, I turned a tidy aboutface on TH being a lust object. Thank you for the public service!

  3. For-Tart Says:

    Never heard of him.

  4. Sacha Says:

    And yet, I kind of love baby wipes.

  5. adela Says:

    i completely agree with him about using wipes. i prefer to clean myself with wipes after doing number two. makes for a less stinky booty.

  6. Violet Says:

    Oh, thank you. I will “make this adjustment” immediately.

    Call me, Terrence!

  7. kathy Says:

    I just wish people would use biodegradable wipes. They exist.

  8. Kim Says:

    I don’t like you any more Terrence. Go wipe yourself!

  9. Andria Says:

    I used to like Terence Howard until he opened his mouth and started saying things a screenwriter didn’t write for him.

  10. pantrypuff Says:

    What an ass troll

  11. madwag Says:

    well… I would use them if they were there … but I think it is really strange to say what he did… it wouldn’t be something that would pop into my mind. I would be more concerned about other things.

  12. LJ Says:

    I’ve got one word for him “Cretan”!

  13. urbancadence Says:

    I’ve never liked this douchebag. I remember when they were interviewing him about his role in the movie “Crash”… he just pissed me off how self-righteous he is. If he wants a woman who looks like him, then she’s gonna be one friggin’ ugly woman, that’s all I can say. And no, as an artist, it’s not your job to speak up. That’s the job of a douchebag, which you are. ARGH!

    Are he and Kanye West related? They’re both self-righteous, egotistical douchebags. I wouldn’t be surprised if they were the same person.

  14. Desirée Says:

    I’m all for using wet wipes – in fact, pregnancy related bottom issues had me using them for ages, but two problems arose from this – the additives that give me an allergic reaction worse than any poo residue and the environmental impact! When living in Italy we had a bidet, and that I miss! I’m surprised the man says nothing about bidets. They are fab. But go guy for saying what you like. Other than that, what a weirdo!

  15. yankeechick Says:

    This is new to me as well, and all I can say is….Holy Crap! I can’t believe I recently enjoyed him in The Brave One.

    But I SO agree with Desiree. America really needs to get into the Bidet thing. They are awesome!


Leave a Reply

