MY BABY IS GROWING UP

It is the end of an era, the start of a new chapter: My baby started daycare today. I was able to stay home with him for the first 4.5 months of his life and Sasha was a SAHD for the next 5 months of his life, so we are very lucky. It broke my heart to drop him off this morning, however. I mean, I really like the daycare lady, but she is essentially a perfect stranger. Thank god Finn is a good baby, who likes other people & tends to only cry when hungry or over tired. He was too engrossed with all the new toys available to him to notice me leave. She called me an hour later to say he was not fussy at all and they were having a snack. Of course I burst into tears.

My aunts are actually here visiting from CA. This is the first time they have met Finn, so it is all very special. These are my mother’s sisters, so it feels like she is here, too. They are ages 60 & 56, but a bustle of blond hair and vociferous laughter. They arrived on the 4th of July dressed in red, white and blue and were more joyous than fireworks off the Space Needle. Of course they love Finn and have been pouring attention on him a gallon at a time. He has been non-stop smiling and performing since they got here. We all went to Queen Mary’s Tea Room on Saturday for high tea, which was a delightful and ladylike event filled with tea sandwiches, cakes and scones. There were even tiara’s available if you wanted the full experience.

Yesterday we went to the Locks to watch the salmon swim up the fish ladder and I forgot to bring a bottle for Finn. I knew the sliced peaches were not quite enough, so to circumvent hunger and tears we ordered him some macaroni and cheese off the kids menu at a nearby restaurant and he loved to scoop the noodles in his mouth. Most of it ended up on the floor, but he delighted in trying something new and we joined him in his delight. He eats like he’s praying:

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

8 Comments on “MY BABY IS GROWING UP”

  1. Mindy Says:

    His head is just the frickin cutest thing ever! What a beautiful baby you and Sasha made. 🙂

  2. madwag Says:

    Finn is so adorable… I love his eyes :o)

  3. words-4-less Says:

    I can’t believe he’s that old already. Seems like you JUST had him a month ago!!!!

  4. Cat Says:

    That awe you feel over watching him change and grow never ends. Isn’t it wonderful? 🙂

  5. Kim Says:

    My god, Finn is the most adorable kid I have ever seen. I swear it. He is loving that macaroni!! I am sorry you had to get used to daycare; oh that would be so hard. You are such a good & loving mom. Guess it will get easier as time goes on?

    I love this: “a bustle of blond hair and vociferous laughter”. What a lovely & FUN couple of ladies, hah!! And to have them as members of your family too, how cool!! I can imagine their delight over Finn. (And you!) What fun.

    (Thanks for your note. I know it is true, deep down anyway. Thank you.)

  6. webmiss Says:

    He will be ok. You will be ok. Just make sure that the times that you do spend with him, are good, quality, happy times. All will be right in the end. You and Sasha very obviously love him to pieces. If it’s obvious to us, it will be obvious to him.

    He really is a cutie!

  7. Desirée Says:

    Finn is so sweet. I can’t believe how big he is already. Iknow completely how you feel about leaving him with “a stranger” – but don’t worry – it’s super healthy for him to get out. And he wonøt forget who his mummy and daddy are 😉

    Oh, and I nearly lost my daughter at the pool yesterday. She nearly drowned. I had to pull her out. It was the most terrifying thing I’ve ever experienced.

  8. poopiebitch Says:

    He is getting so BIG!


Leave a Reply

