LET THE POWER OF TRIPS COMPEL YOU

I played poker awhile back with my brother and his family.   At one point the dealer laid down the flop (the first 3 cards to be laid face up in Texas Hold ‘em) and it was triple sixes. I screamed at the top of my lungs, started spitting at the cards and making voodoo signs with my fingers while mumbling: “It’s the Devil’s hand”. My young nephew, Eli ended up on the floor after my screaming startled him out of his chair. He did not know that 666 is considered the Devil’s number. He is raised without religion, which is great, but also strange that he is not taught much at all along those lines. I thought the oddity of laying down triple anything, let alone trip sixes was worthy of a scream. I forget some people are not used to me.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

8 Comments on “LET THE POWER OF TRIPS COMPEL YOU”

  1. Desirée Says:

    Actually, the devils number is 366. Long story, but do trust me on this.

  2. Desirée Says:

    Sorry, I meant 616. 366 is the number of the invoice in front of me.

  3. Mindy Says:

    $6.66 often comes up when I am making small purchases. I live in a fairly conservative area with a lot of deeply religious people (I am in the heart of the Amish and Mennonite communities). When $6.66 comes up, I’ve actually had check-out clerks practically beg me to buy a pack of gum to change my total.

  4. Kristen Says:

    Hilarious! I love that your nephew got scared out of his chair. Unrelated, but almost related: I once played Yahtzee with my sister. I got a Yahtzee, yelled, “YAHTZEE!” and promptly got punched in the eye.

  5. Urbancadence Says:

    That’s really cool and funny and all, but the important question is… DID YOU HAVE THE OTHER 6 IN YOUR HAND? I’ve only played a 4-of-a-kind twice in my entire life!!! Heehee! 🙂

  6. yankeechick Says:

    You are TOO funny, missy!

  7. poopiebitch Says:

    I want to play cards with you.

  8. madwagy Says:

    I was at church on Saturday helping w/ a childrens activity… I picked up a McDonalds toy… and turned it on… it read 666 in the display… weird.


Leave a Reply

