BEGIN THE BEGIN

Huddled in the tree fort made in the thick brush beside the creek that runs near the walnut orchard near my house, me and my 3 best childhood friends spit on our hands and shake that no one else can enter our secret hideaway.

Growing up, my mom would kick us kids out of the house and say don’t come back until dinner. There was pretty much a one mile radius around where we lived where we could get into as much mischief as possible. Down the hill sat the orchard and the creek that ran into the football stadium. Down the street was the city park and golf course or there was always the town area. We had forts and pretend play houses in every nook and would run around like demons for hours everyday, returning home only to stock up on snacks or grab a peanut butter sandwich. We had to be home by 5pm for dinner, but then could go back out and play until dark.

Most of the walnut trees have been cut down to make room for the new houses built in the orchard and the creek has been deemed private property, no trespassing.

It is sad to live in a day and age where there are fewer places for kids to play, especially unsupervised. My kid is going to grow up in an extremely different reality.

But, there will always be swings!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

15 Comments on “BEGIN THE BEGIN”

  1. sillycakes Says:

    Swings are one of life’s greater pleasures. I always head straight for them, on the all-too-rare occasion I visit a playground!

  2. yankeechick Says:

    YAY! Welcome to WP! Hope you will like it. And what a darling picture. God! I so want to kiss those cheeks!!!

  3. SBT Says:

    The damned kids from next door have started running around our back porch, taking A’s chalk and toys, and making me feel old and crotchety. Partially because I don’t want to become a surrogate parent for them (“Hey there! Stop playing with that bear!”), but mostly because I don’t want to have to care about whether I’m wandering around naked in my own damned home.

  4. eleanorio Says:

    Welcome to your new home. Nice start!

  5. Beth Says:

    That may officially be the cutest picture ever. Judging by you, your boy will never lack imagination even if he can’t run wild and free through the neighbourhood.

  6. LannyLee Says:

    Hey – love your new page!

    I’ll be joining you here soon, got an e-mail from Andrew this morning to remind me my subscription is up in approx 30 days & so don’t forget to renew! Yeah, like that’s going to happen!

    I’ll send you my new page address as soon as it’s set up, just out of interest how difficult was it to set up in WordPress?

  7. sbellem Says:

    Welcome to your new page!!! Love it!

  8. Kristen Says:

    Yay! Nice place!
    I agree – there’s no way I’d be cool with even letting a STRANGER’S kid romp around in the woods unsupervised like I did when I was little. Scary.

  9. Desirée Says:

    What a lovely place you have here, Cloudy! Very impressed with your choice of furniture and impressed also with how quickly you got settled in. And a playground with swings just finishes it all of nicely! Well done. Oh, and I donøt have diabetes – I have an allergic reaction/side effect to nasty antibiotics. Don’t know if I’ll ever be able to taste properly again!!!

  10. madwag Says:

    cool new site chick…. and a lot better

  11. aimee Says:

    hey, you moved!
    yeah, I endlessly explored my redwood national forested backyard with the best of them. but did you or I ever try to torch someone’s garage?? kids!

  12. Kim Says:

    Hey Cloudy!! Congrats on the move; it must have been hard (and a lot of work) — but it looks great. I remember moving from DL to Blogger; I am so glad I did. I am sure WordPress is so much better than DL too.

    I LOVE that photo, look at that expression on his face! Oh my god he is growing every second.

    Hope you all have a great weekend!! 🙂

  13. pantrypuff Says:

    Oh thank God you left that craphead Diaryland. WElcome to the land of the living!

  14. poopiebitch Says:

    Hip, hip hurray for new beginnings.


Leave a Reply

